Persons related to Chopin Persons related to Chopin

Marta Boberska

Marta Boberska

Marta Boberska

Marta Boberska graduated from the singing class of Janina Skalik at the F. Chopin Music Academy in Warsaw in 1995. As a student, she received scholarships from the Ministry of Culture and the Arts and the Mayor of the Capital City of Warsaw.

Since 1994, she has been a soloist at the Warsaw Chamber Opera. She has cooperated with many philharmonics and theatres in Poland, including the National Theatre, Opera Nova in Bydgoszcz, Powszechny Theatre in Warsaw, and the Latvian National Opera.

Her repertoire includes solo parts in the operas of Mozart (Pamino in The Magic Flute, Susanna and Cherubino in The Marriage of Figaro, Zerlina in Don Giovanni, Blonde in The Abduction from the Seraglio, Fauno in Ascanio in Alba), Monteverdi (Drusilla in The Coronation of Poppea, La Musica in L'Orfeo), Handel (Clomiri in Imeneo, Armida in Rinaldo), as well as Purcell and Rossini.

In the 1998/99 season, she participated in the production of Mozart's The Magic Flute (as Queen of the Night) under the direction of Jean-Claude Malgoire, appearing at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées in Paris, among others. She also performs modern music: she has given the first performance of Marijn Simons' song cycle and Zygmunt Krauze's opera Balthazar.

She leads a rich concert activity both in Poland and abroad, appearing in chamber and oratorio works, and cooperating with a number of ancient music ensembles and performers, including Władysław Kłosiewicz, Agata Sapiecha and Marek Toporowski.

She has recorded several CDs with works such as Johann Adolf Hasse's Zenobia, Handel's Imeneo, Kaspar Förster's Vanitas vanitatum, Peri's Euridice, Domenico Scarlatti's Tetide in Sciro, and has contributed to the complete works of Marcin Mielczewski and Grzegorz Gerwazy Gorczycki. She has also made a number of broadcast and TV recordings, as well as film music to the movies of Andrzej Wajda and Agnieszka Holland.

She has been shortlisted for the "Polityka" Passport Award (2000, 2001, 2002) and the Fryderyk Award (1999, 2000, 2001, 2002).


By category:

Gallery of photographs »